

Appendix C - List of Hearings and Witnesses

Wednesday, 20 September 2006 - Sydney

Australia South Asia Research Centre, Australian National University

Professor Raghbendra Jha, Executive Director

Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Dr Brent Davis, Director - Trade and International Affairs

Cox Group Pty Ltd

Mr Russell Leet, Director

Hunt & Hunt Lawyers

Mr Sunil Lal, Partner

Dr Som Majumdar, Director - Asia Division

PENTAQ Technology Pty. Ltd.

Mr Raj Sharma, Managing Director

Private Capacity

Professor Marika Vicziany

Telstra Corporation Limited

Mr Danny Kotlowitz, Solicitor - Regulatory Legal Group

The Australian Services Roundtable

Ms Jane Drake-Brockman, Executive Director

Woolworths Limited

Mr Barry Neil, Director of Property

Friday, 13 October 2006 - Canberra

Australian Vice-Chancellors' Committee

Professor Roger Dean, Member

Ms Callista Punch, Director - Communication and Coordination

BHP Billiton India Advisory Board

Mr Aditya Narayan, President and CEO – BHP Billiton Marketing Services, India

Mr Madras Seshamani Ramachandran, Chairman

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Ms Kimberley Shrives, International Relations Adviser

Dr Kleanthes (Anthos) Yannakou, Director - International

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Darren Gribble, Chairman - Australia-India Council

Ms Carol Robertson, Director - Australia-India Council Secretariat

National Australia Bank

Mr Cameron Clyne, Executive General Manager - Group Development

QANTAS

Mr Derek Baines, Commercial Manager - International Commercial Management

Mr David Hawes, Manager - Government and Industry Relations

Friday, 3 November 2006 - Canberra

Austrade

Mr Mike Moignard, Senior Trade Commissioner - South Asia Mr Pat Stortz, Manager - International Liaison Unit

Australia-India Business Council

Mr Neville Roach, Chairman Emeritus

Australia-India Council

Ms Carol Robertson, Director – Australia-India Council Secretariat, South and West Asia, Middle East and Africa Division

Australian Agency for International Development

Mr Andrew Adzic, Manager - South Asia Regional Program -North and South Asia Section

Mr Peter Callan, Assistant Director-General - Asia Regional Branch

Mr Murray Proctor, Deputy Director-General - Asia Division

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Mr Paul Farrell, Assistant Secretary - Temporary Entry Branch

Department of Defence

Dr Karl Claxton, Acting Director - North and South Asia Branch, International Policy Division

Mr Michael Pezzullo, Deputy Secretary - Strategy

Department of Education, Science and Training

Ms Jessie Borthwick, Group Manager - Science

Ms Fiona Buffinton, Group Manager - International Education

Mr Graeme Rankin, Director – South and South-East Asia and the Middle East, International Education

Mr Justin Withers, Assistant Director - Science Group

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Gita Kamath, Director - Arms Control Section, International Security Division

Ms Deborah Anne Stokes, First Assistant Secretary - South and West Asia, Middle East and Africa Division

Mr Phillip Stonehouse, Acting Assistant Secretary - South and West Asia Branch

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Mr James Fox, First Assistant Secretary - Migration and Temporary Entry Division

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Ms Kate Horton, Manager - Investment Strategy Team, Market Access Branch

Mr John Karas, Manager - Coal Industry Section, Resources Division

Mr Philip Noonan, Head - Tourism Division

Mr Kevin O'Brien, General Manager - Industry Policy Division

Invest Australia

Ms Kerry Rooney, General Manager - Technology and Manufacturing Industries Branch